Legislative Updates

The mission of the Greater Ocean City, Maryland Chamber of Commerce is to enhance the economic growth of the region by providing leadership, inspiration, education and development opportunities to support and promote all segments of the tourism and business community. We represent more than 925 regional businesses in a variety of industries, with Tourism being a driving force.

The Chamber has an active Legislative Committee as well as a contracted lobbyist, Dennis Rasmussen, who works on our behalf in Annapolis. The committee maintains contact with our Eastern Shore Delegation as well as Federal representatives on issues that could impact our membership.

The Legislative Committee, along with the Board of Directors, are in the process of identifying the priorities for the 2019 legislative session.

2019 Greater Ocean City Chamber of Commerce Legislative Issues / Priorities

Planning for the 2019 Legislative Session

During the 2019 session, the chamber will communicate with membership on a weekly basis and include an updated list of bills that may affect our region. In addition, the Legislative Committee will participate in weekly conference calls with our lobbyist to stay abreast of any changes or action that needs to be taken.

2019 Legislative Updates

Legislative Testimony on behalf of the Chamber 

We also encourage you to contact your local Senator & Delegates regarding issues- they need to hear from you!

House Economic Matters Committee

Legislative Links

Contact Information:

Legislative Committee Chair- Brett Wolf, 410-641-4300  
President & CEO – Melanie Pursel, 410-213-0144   

You may also visit the General Assembly of Maryland website for more information on the Maryland General Assembly and the current Session.

Please also visit the Maryland State Archives for information on the Legislative process


Your local elected officials:

State Senator – District 38
Mary Beth Carozza ( R)
(410) 841-3645
James Senate Office Building, Room 314
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
State Delegate – District 38C
Delegate Wayne Hartman (R)
(410) 841-3356
House Office Building, Room 308
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
State Delegate – District 38A
Delegate Charles Otto (R)
(410) 841-3348
House Office Building, Room 321
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
State Delegate – District 38B
Delegate Carl Anderton (R)
(410) 841-3431
House Office Building, Room 321
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401